Feed My Lambs

Today I would love to share one part of my favorite book with all of you, my fellow mothers. I actually wished to post it yesterday during Mother’s Day, but I was just too weak to do so because the whole family members were down with bad flu and cough. However, I am glad that I can write and share with you today. Hope it’ll bless and encourage some souls.

spiritual parenting“So when they had dined, Jesus saith to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my lambs.” John 21:15

Brothers and sisters, the work that you have to do for Jesus is in no sense for yourselves. You pupils (children) are not your children, but Christ’s. Let these lambs turn out what they may, the glory is to be to the Master and not to the servant.

The whole time spent, labor given, and energy put forth is, every particle of it, to overflow with the praise of Him whose lambs these are. 

Yet, while this is a self-denying occupation, it is sweetly honorable, too. We may attend to it feeling that it is one of the noblest forms of service. Jesus said, “My lambs…my sheep” (John 21:15-17). Think of them, and wonder that Jesus should commit them to us. 

Jesus did, in effect, say to Peter, “I love you so that I trust you with that which I purchased with My heart’s blood. The dearest thing I have in all the world is My flock. Simon, I have such confidence in you, I so wholly rely on your integrity as being a sincere lover of Me, that I make you a shepherd to My sheep. These are all I have on earth. I gave everything for them, even My life. Now, Simon, son of Jonas, take care of them for Me”. Oh, how tenderly Christ spoke to Peter.

The master motive of a good shepherd is love. We are to feed Christ’s lambs out of love. First, as a proof of love. “If you love Me, feed My lambs”. 

Next, as an inflowing of love. If you love Christ a little when you begin to do good, you will soon love Him more. Love loves until it loves no more; and it loves more until it loves still more; and it loves even more until it loves most of all. Then it is not satisfied, but aspires after enlargement of heart that it may copy yet more fully the perfect model of love in Christ Jesus, the Savior. 

So let us abide in this blessed service for Christ that it may be the delight of love, the very ocean in which love shall swim, the sunlight in which it shall bask. The recreation of a loving soul is working for Jesus Christ. Among the highest and most delicious forms of this heavenly recreation is the feeding of young Christians, endeavoring to build them up in knowledge and understanding, that they may become strong in Lord. 

(Spiritual Parenting, by C. H. Spurgeon)

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

