Treating Cough and Cold Naturally With Honey Lemon Ginger Tea

This is a must-share recipe! Not only because it tastes delicious, but also because it does wonders for the body. I came across this recipe few weeks ago when I started learning and reading more about home remedies for cold and cough.

It all started when Alex was prescribed antibiotics for his cough…again. I realized that he had taken too many medications and antibiotics for the past three years.

So I told myself, “Enough! We had enough of medication. There must be better way of treating cough and cold, and I just need to know how.”

As I searched and read more articles about how to treat cough and cold naturally, this recipe showed up and was on top of the list. However, I did not manage to try it on Alex, since he is already recover. But, I tried it on hubby instead =D

Last week, hubby caught a cold and cough. He took cough syrup and almost finished up the whole bottle, but apparently he was not getting better. So I asked him to stop taking the medicine, and be my ‘guinea pig’ to proof that this tea really works =P =)

OK. Before I share the recipe, let me just briefly explain why there must be lemon, ginger, and honey in this tea.

“There are many health benefits of lemons that have been known for centuries. The two biggest are lemons’ strong antibacterial, antiviral, and immune-boosting powers and their use as a weight loss aid because lemon juice is a digestive aid and liver cleanser. Lemons contain many substances–notably citric acid, calcium, magnesium, vitamin C, bioflavonoids, pectin, and limonene–that promote immunity and fight infection.” (source)

“For centuries, ginger has been used as an effective cure when it comes to common cough and cold. Even when the symptoms become severe, using this as tea will alleviate sore throat, itchiness, coughing and even blocked nasal passages.” (source)

“Among the many health benefits of honey, what is most impressive to me is that honey can be a powerful immune system booster. And it helps to treat sore throat and kills certain bacteria that causes the infection.” (source)

After trying and changing the recipe for few times, I stick to this one at the end. According to hubby, it tastes great, soothes his throat, and makes him feels better each time he drinks it. And you know what?! Alex loves it, too! =D

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon ginger juice.
  • 2 tablespoon lemon juice.
  • 2 tablespoon honey.
  • 250ml water.

Direction:

  • Peel and grate about 2.5cm of ginger root, and squeeze out the ginger juice from the grated pieces. For my convenience, I normally grate about 5cm of ginger at once, and keep the remaining in the fridge.
  • Roll the lemon on the table before you slice it. It helps to break down some of the fibers and the juice will flow more freely when you cut it. Cut the lemon in half and press it down on a juicer or manually squeeze it with your hand.
  • Mix the ginger juice, lemon juice, and honey in a cup. Fill up half of the cup with room temperature water, and top it up with boiling water. This is to prevent the hot boiling water to destroy all the good stuff in the honey.

In hubby’s case, this tea really works. He is almost recover from his cough after taking it diligently for few days, 2-3 times/day. 

This morning, I made this tea in a thermos, and without him knowing, I put it inside his bag for him to enjoy in the office. And soon enough, I received a SMS from him which bring smile to my face =)

I hope that this recipe will bring smile to your face, too. Enjoy! =D

PS. You can always play around with the amount of ginger, lemon and honey to your own liking. I added extra ginger juice in hubby’s tea when his cold was really bad.

This entry was posted in Health, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Treating Cough and Cold Naturally With Honey Lemon Ginger Tea

  1. Sofia, this sounds lovely! I’ve been collecting different recipes, trying to prepare for the upcoming season, and we’re also traveling soon… I’m definitely pinning this one so I have it for later! Thanks🙂

    P.S. I run a weekly blog hop called Tiny Tip Tuesday, and I would love for you to come and link up this recipe next week, after we return from our break! I’ll come back and remind you🙂

    • Sofia says:

      Hi Sarah, please do share your other recipes on your blog =) I will be happy to collect more recipes from you, too. You have posted so many good and healthy stuff =D Keep it up!!!

      Thank you so much for inviting me for the weekly blog hop. Would love to join you and other bloggers there =) But I might need your help to remind me and guide me in this. I am a newbie in blogging =)

      • Thanks for sharing this with us at Tiny Tip Tuesday, Sofia! I’m pinning it on Pinterest and sharing it on my Facebook page🙂

      • Sofia says:

        Thank you, Sarah! =) My 3 yo son is actually down with flu since 4 days ago. And instead of medication, I make and serve this ‘tea’ for him, one cup per day (250ml/day). To my own surprise, he gets better really fast. If this ‘tea’ really works on him (I need to experiment for few more times), I will be very happy to say ‘good-bye’ to all the flu medication that is filling up my medication box =P

  2. I do not remember where or who gave me this tip but it is for sore throats and coughs. You boil garlic cloves in a little water and skim off the foam that forms on top of the water. Give it to the ill person about a teaspoon at a time a few times daily especially at bedtime.

    • Sofia says:

      Hi Marlene, sorry for replying late. Thank you for your sharing, I will definitely google about it and give it a try =) Have a great week ahead!

Leave a Reply

