DIY Door Plate For The House

I am not a person with a good sense of art and I never take any art lesson before in my life. But I love to make hand made stuff, especially the foolproof ones of course =D And since I can’t draw and paint like a pro, I always use stickers hehehe I am always excited when I see beautiful and fancy stickers at the stores. They always make me smile =)

And for the past few weeks, I have been planning to make a door plate for our house, but I can’t really decide on the colours and theme that is heart warming and welcoming. So again…I walk around the store that sell plenty of stickers and soon enough I fall in love with one =)

In that particular set of sticker, there are flowers, butterflies, birds and NEST with three tiny eggs in it!!! *grin* =D It is just so lovely and perfect for our house because I, myself, often see our house as a place where I can nurture, feed, protect and care for all my ‘nestling’ =)

So here it is. After painting, polishing, and sticking for few hours, I can now hang the door plate on our main door =)

Oh right! I just read a book by Edith Schaeffer that encouraged me to make use of my creativity at home. It was a gift from my friends  on Alexander’s 2nd birthday. So please allow me to share one part of the book that I personally found very inspiring.

“The place where you are living now should be expressing something of yourself. It should communicating something of you to your visitors, but it should also satisfy something within you. You should feel at home here, because you have made it home with something of yourself. 

It seems to me that, whether it is recognized or not, there is a terrific frustration which increases in intensity and harmfulness as time goes on, when people are always daydreaming of the kind of place in which they would like to live, yet never making the place where they do live into anything artistically satisfying to them. Always to dream of a cottage by a brook, while never doing anything original to the stuffy boarding-house room in a city, is to waste creativity in this very basic area, and to hinder future creativity by not allowing it to grow and develop through use. 

Trying out all the ideas that come to you, within the limits of your present place, money, talents, materials, and so forth, will not use up everything you want to save for the future, but will rather generate and develop more ideas. 

So why not surround yourself now with things that communicate something of your appreciation, your taste and your interests? Express yourself not only in selecting things to buy, not only in your choice from many things displayed in a store, but also in what you can produce yourself, with some degree of originality, craftsmanship or artistic creativity. There is great satisfaction in making something out of nothing, in restoring some old cast-off to a place of usefulness and beauty, or stone or metal from the dump and turning it into an object that has purpose and charm in your home.”

(Taken from the book “The Hidden Art of Homemaking” by Edith Schaeffer.)  

This entry was posted in DIY and Craft with Kids, Homemaking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Door Plate For The House

  1. What a lovely sentiment. And a great doorplate. Clever you.🙂

Leave a Reply

