Steamed Egg Tofu with Minced Pork

I have a new radar installed in me since I become a full-time housewife. It is called “Promotion Radar”.

Basically, it will alert me whenever I see any promotion items at the supermarket =D

And last week, my radar alerted me “TING TONG” when I spotted a promotion for egg tofu with every three tubes purchased.

Mmm…what a smart way of marketing, yeah! But honestly, it really works for housewife like me who wants to shop and save =P

So I bought three tubes of egg tofu and immediately searched for new recipe once I reached home. I found a good recipe here, but then I modified some of the ingredients (depends on what I have in the fridge on that day).

Ingredients:
(Serves 2-3)

  • 1 tube Silken egg tofu (cut into 1.5cm thickness)
  • 1 whole carrot (chopped finely)
  • 250 grams of minced pork 

Marinade:

  • 1 tsp light soya sauce
  • 1 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp corn flour
  • Dash of salt & white pepper powder

Direction: 

  • Mix the minced pork and chopped carrot with the marinade and allow it to sit for at least 15 minutes.
  • Mould the marinaded meat into balls and place them on top of tofu slices.
  • Top each meat ball with chopped carrot (optional).
  • Bring water to boil in steamer and then steam the tofu & meat over high heat for about 5-10 minutes or until the meat is cooked.

Hubby generously gave 10 points for the presentation “Flower on the plate”, and 8 points for the taste. When I jokingly asked why I only get 8 points for the taste, he diplomatically answered “Errr…actually the taste is nice, but I want to give you room for improvement.” Mmm…very well said =P =D

I supposed Alex loved the presentation too because there were so many ‘balls’ on his plate. And he gave me two thumbs up when he was having his lunch. YAY!!! Oh…how I wish this scenario can  happen everyday =D

I hope that you and your family will love this recipe too =)

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Steamed Egg Tofu with Minced Pork

  1. PabloPabla says:

    Thank you for trying this recipe. I’m glad it turned out well and you had thumbs up from your loved ones😀

    • Sofia says:

      Thanks for sharing your recipes too =) Your blog is so resourceful and most of the recipes suit my fam’s taste =)
      I sure will visit your blog often, especially when I run out of idea what to cook😉

  2. I don’t like pork – could I substitute something else?

  3. Vicky says:

    hahahhaaa…. I can imagine Alex said “ball ball ball” while eating😀

Leave a Reply

